List of Codes for the Administrative Divisions of Sri Lanka 2001

Introduction

The Department of Census and Statistics has from early times continued to prepare systematic lists of Codes covering the Administrative Divisions of Sri Lanka. At each Census of Population a list of administrative units containing the administrative divisions existing at the time is prepared and codes are assigned to them enabling easier identification of such divisions. Given here is the list of codes up to Grama Niladhari Level prepared for the purposes of the Census of Population conducted in the year 2001. Codes have been assigned to administrative divisions according to their geographical location.

By making the code-list accessible to users, it is expected that a uniform list of codes are being used for administrative divisions throughout the country. The Department will continue to update this list of codes taking into account the changes taking place from time to time.

Serial Order of the Administrative Divisions

Codes have been assigned according to the geographical location of the administrative divisions. As the apex in the serial order is occupied by the province, codes have been assigned to the districts in each province and thereafter to divisional secretary's division in each district and then to Grama Niladhari divisions in each divisional secretary's division.

The diagram below shows how codes have been assigned.

Province and District

Divisional Secretary's Division

Grama Niladhari Division

How Codes have been assigned;

Province : 1, 2, 3,......9

(within Sri Lanka)

District : 1, 2, 3,... etc.

(within the Province)

Divisional Secretary's Divisions : 03, 06, 09, 12,.....etc.

(within the District)

Grama Niladhari Divisions : 005, 010, 015, 020......etc.

(within the D.S. Division)

Note: Numbers have been assigned in this manner, to enable codes to be assigned to

new divisional secretary's divisions and Grama Niladhari divisions at

appropriate places when such new divisions are created. Please note that

such numbers in between have already been assigned in some districts.

The list together with the codes has been developed by the Census Division under the

direction of Mr. H. R. Gunasekera, Director. The systematic plan of assigning codes for

administrative divisions with the facility for updating was organized by Mr. W. D. P. de A.

Goonatilleke Senior Statistician. Preparation of the code list, checking for accuracy and the

computer processing was carried out by Mr. W. C. Weerawansa, Statistician assisted by Mr.

K. P. S. P. de Silva Arshakularatne, Statistical Officer. The codes based on maps, according

to the geographical location was assigned by Mr. S. D. Rajapakse, Statistical Draughtsman.

Views, suggestions or comments if any, relating to the list of codes may be addressed to:

Director (Census), Tel: 697185, 695940

Census Division. Fax: 673657

Department of Census and Statistics, E-mail: census @ eureka.lk

16/7. Albert Crescent.

Colombo 7.

Summary of administrative divisions in Sri Lanka;

Province	District	No. of D. S. Divisions	No. of G. N. Divisions
Sri Lanka	25	324	14,008
Western	Colombo	13	557
	Gampaha	13	1177
	Kalutara	14	762
Central	Kandy	20	1188
	Matale	11	545
	Nuwara Eliya	5	491
Southern	Galle	18	895
	Matara	16	650
	Hambantota	11	576
Northern	Jaffna	14	435
	Mannar	5	153
	Vavuniya	4	102
	Mullaitivu	5	127
	Kilinochchi	4	95
Eastern	Batticaloa	12	345
	Ampara	19	504
	Trincomalee	11	230
North-Western	Kurunegala	30	1610
	Puttalam	16	548

North-Central	Anuradhapura	22	694
	Polonnaruwa	7	290
Uva	Badulla	15	567
	Monaragala	11	319
Sabaragamuwa	Ratnapura	17	575
	Kegalle	11	573