

For Immediate Release

AERA Honors 2012 Fellows for Outstanding Education Research

WASHINGTON, D.C., March 5, 2012 – The American Educational Research Association (AERA) announces the selection of 36 scholars to be AERA Fellows in recognition of their exceptional scientific or scholarly contributions to education research or significant contributions to the field through the development of research opportunities and settings.

Through the Fellows Program, the Association aims to convey a commitment to excellence in education research and to underscore the importance of sustained research contributions in the field. In announcing the new Fellows, AERA Executive Director Felice J. Levine applauded these education researchers for their substantive and sustained scholarship. "The Class of 2012 Fellows continues this Association's strong commitment to sound and rigorous research on education and learning that advances knowledge and thereby serves the public good."

The 2012 Fellows will be inducted on Saturday, April 14, 2012, during AERA's 93rd Annual Meeting in Vancouver, British Columbia. It is the Association's expectation that Fellows will be visibly engaged in important AERA programs and activities and that they will serve as models and mentors to the next generation of scholars long into the future of the field.

The Fellows designation is a high honor of the Association. Nominated by peers, selected by the Fellows Program Committee, and approved by the AERA Council, the new AERA Fellows are listed below.

2012 AERA Fellows

Donna Alvermann, *The University of Georgia* James D. Anderson, *University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign*

Ron Astor, *University of Southern California*Alberto F. Cabrera, *University of Maryland*Anne E. Cunningham, *University of California*,
Berkeley

Ruben Donato, *University of Colorado, Boulder* Anne Haas Dyson, *University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign*

Catherine D. Ennis, *University of North Carolina at Greensboro*

Xitao Fan, University of Macau
Sarah Freedman, University of California, Berkeley
Lynn Fuchs, Vanderbilt University
Steve Graham, Vanderbilt University
Glynda A. Hull, University of California, Berkeley
Richard Lehrer, Vanderbilt University
Susan Lytle, The University of Pennsylvania
Herbert W. Marsh, University of Oxford

Paul A. McDermott, Jr., *The University of Pennsylvania* Peter L. McLaren, *University of California*, *Los Angeles* Jeffrey Milem, *University of Arizona* Robert J. Mislevy, *ETS*

Elizabeth Birr Moje, *University of Michigan*Joseph Murphy, *Vanderbilt University*Bonny Norton, *The University of British Columbia*Patricia O'Sullivan, *University of California, San Francisco*

Reinhard Pekrun, *University of Munich*Sheila Slaughter, *The University of Georgia*Christine Elaine Sleeter, *California State University, Monterey Bay*

James P. Spillane, Northwestern University
Dorothy Strickland, Rutgers University (emeritus)
William T. Trent, University of Illinois, UrbanaChampaign

Jeroen J. G. van Merrienboer, *Maastrict University* Ana Maria Villegas, *Montclair State University*

Stella Vosniadou, *National and Kapodistrian University* of Athens
Daniel A. Wagner, *The University of Pennsylvania*

Kevin G. Welner, *University of Colorado, Boulder* Mark R. Wilson, *University of California, Berkeley*

The AERA Fellows program was inaugurated in 2008. The call for nominations for 2013 Fellows will open in summer 2012. For details and a complete list of <u>fellows</u>, please visit the AERA Web site, <u>www.aera.net</u>.

-AERA-

To reach AERA Communications, call (202)238-3200; Alicia Torres (<u>atorres@aera.net</u>) or Lucy Cunningham (<u>lcunningham@aera.net</u>).

The American Educational Research Association (AERA) is the national interdisciplinary research association for approximately 25,000 scholars who undertake research in education. Founded in 1916, AERA aims to advance knowledge about education, to encourage scholarly inquiry related to education, and to promote the use of research to improve education and serve the public good.