#### **RECIPIENTS**

2010	JOHN M. CIOFFI Hitachi America Professor of Electrical Engineering, Stanford University, Stanford, CA, USA	"For pioneering discrete multitone modem technology as the foundation of the global DSL industry."
2009	ROBERT J. MCELIECE Allan E. Puckett Professor and Professor of Electrical Engineering California Institute of Technology Pasadena, CA, USA	"For fundamental contributions to the theory and practice of error-correcting codes and to the design of deep space telecommunication systems."
2008	GERARD J. FOSCHINI Bell Labs Fellow, Wireless Communications Research Department, Bell Laboratories, Alcatel-Lucent, Holmdel, NJ, USA	"For seminal contributions to the science and technology of multiple-antenna wireless communications."
2007	NORMAN ABRAMSON Vice President and CTO of SkyWare, Inc. San Francisco, CA	"For contributions to the development of modern data networks through fundamental work in random multiple access"
2006	JOHN M. WOZENCRAFT Professor Emeritus, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, MIT., Cambridge, MA.	"For the development of sequential decoding and the signal space approach to digital communication."
2005	JIM K. OMURA Technology Strategist, Gordon & Betty Moore Foundation, San Francisco, CA	"For contributions to the theory of communication systems and the commercial applications of spread spectrum radios and public key cryptography."
2004	NOT AWARDED	
2003	JAOCHIM HAGENAUER Munich University of Technology Munich, Germany	"For contributions to soft decoding and its application to iterative decoding algorithm"
2002	TSUNEO NAKAHARA Sumitomo Electric Industries Osaka, Japan	"For pioneering work on the design and development of manufacturing systems for optical fibers."
2001	NOT AWARDED	
2000	VLADIMIR A. KOTELNIKOV Russian Academy of Sciences Moscow, Russia	"For fundamental contributions to signal theory."

# **RECIPIENTS**

1999	DAVID G. MESSERSCHMITT University of California, Berkeley Berkeley, CA	"For fundamental contributions to communications theory and practice, including VLSI for signal processing, and simulation and modeling software."
1998	RICHARD E. BLAHUT Dept. of Electrical & Computer Science University of Illinois, Urbana, IL	"For contributions to error-control coding, particularly by combining algebraic coding theory and digital transform techniques"
1997 AND	VINTON G. CERF Sr. Vice President MCI Telecommunications Corp. Reston, VA ROBERT E. KAHN Founder and President Corp for National Research Initiative (CNRI), Reston, VA	"For conceiving the Internet architecture and protocols, and for the vision and sustained leadership that led to the current Internet."
1996	TADAHIRO SEKIMOTO NEC Corporation, Tokyo, Japan	"For pioneering contributions to digital satellite communications and industry leadership in developing digital communications."
1995	IRWIN M. JACOBS QUALCOMM, Inc., San Diego, CA	"For outstanding contributions to telecommunications, including leadership, theory, practice and product development."
1994	HIROSHI INOSE NCSIS, Tokyo, Japan	"For pioneering contributions to digital switching and modulation, and for leadership in international telecommunications."
1993	DONALD C. COX Bellcore, Red Bank, NJ	"For pioneering and leadership in personal portable communications."
1992	JAMES L. MASSEY Swiss Fed. Tech. University Zurich, Switzerland	"For contributions to the theory and practical implementation of forward-error-correcting codes, multi-user communications, and cryptographic systems; and for excellence in engineering education."
1991 AND AND	C. CHAPIN CUTLER The Compromise, Waterford, ME JOHN O. LIMB Hewlett-Packard, Cupertino, CA ARUN N. NETRAVALI	"For the invention and development of predictive coding of pictures and picture sequences."
1990	AT&T Bell Labs., Murray Hill, NJ PAUL BARAN	"For pioneering in Packet Switching."
	Interfax Inc., Menlo Park, CA	
1989 AND	GERALD R. ASH BILLY B. OLIVER AT&T Bell Labs, Holmdel, NJ	"For contributions to the conception and implementation of Dynamic Nonhierarchical Routing (DNHR) in telecommunications networks."

# **RECIPIENTS**

1988	ROBERT M. METCALFE 3Com Corp., Santa Clara, CA	"For contributions to the invention, standardization and commercialization of local area networks especially the Ethernet." "For fundamental contributions to the theory, design and deployment of cellular mobile communications systems."
1987 AND AND	JOEL S. ENGEL Satellite Business Systems McLean, VA RICHARD H. FRENKIEL AT&T Information Systems Labs Holmdel, NJ WILLIAM C. JAKES, JR.	
71110	AT&T Bell Labs, Andover, MA	
1986	BERNARD WIDROW Stanford University, Palo Alto, CA	"For fundamental contributions to adaptive filtering, adaptive noise and echo cancellation, and adaptive antennas."
1985	CHARLES K. KAO ITT Corp., Shelton, CT	"For pioneering contributions to optical fiber communications."
1984	ANDREW J. VITERBI Linkabit Corp., San Diego, CA	"For fundamental contributions to telecommunication theory and practice and for leadership in teaching."
1983	STEPHEN O. RICE Univ. of California, San Diego, CA	"For his contributions to the fundamental understanding of communications systems and to the underlying mathematics, and for inspiring younger scientists and engineers."
1982	HAROLD A. ROSEN Hughes Aircraft Company El Segundo, CA 90245	"For pioneering contributions to, and leadership in, geostationary communication satellites."
1986	BERNARD WIDROW Stanford University, Palo Alto, CA	"For fundamental contributions to adaptive filtering, adaptive noise and echo cancellation, and adaptive antennas."
1981	DAVID SLEPIAN Bell Labs, Murray Hill, NJ	"For fundamental contributions to communication theory."
1980	RICHARD R. HOUGH AT&T, Basking Ridge, NJ	"For his contributions to the nationwide and international telephone network and, particularly, the introduction of electronic switching therein."
1979	A. CHRISTIAN JACOBAEUS Telefonaktiebolaget Stockholm, Sweden	"For pioneering work in the theory of switching systems and technical leadership in the development of telecommunication systems."
1978	M. ROBERT AARON Bell Labs, Holmdel, NJ JOHN S. MAYO Bell Labs, Murray Hill, NJ ERIC E. SUMNER	"For personal contributions to, and leadership in, the practical realization of high-speed digital communications."
AND		
AND		

#### RECIPIENTS

Bell Labs, Whippany, NJ

1977	EBERHARDT RECHTIN	"For pioneering and lasting contributions to deep-
	Hewlett-Packard Co., Palo Alto, CA	space-vehicle communications technology and

for leadership in defense telecommunications."

1976 AMOS E. JOEL, JR. AND WILLIAM KEISTER

AND RAYMOND W. KETCHLEDGE

Bell Telephone Labs, Inc., Holmdel,

NJ

"For conception and development of Electronic

Switching Systems and their effective introduction into a nation-wide telephone

system."